WSPRA Communications Awards Overview

  • Award graphic

    The WSPRA Communication Awards program recognizes creative and effective work in communications. The awards program also provides valuable feedback from other communications professionals. 


    The awards program is available to members only. Learn more about becoming a WSPRA member.

    The individual marked as the primary contributor must be a WSPRA member. Additional contributors do not need to be members. WSPRA members from one organization may not submit for another organization and/or individual. Members may submit work that they partially or fully contracted out based on their district size.

    Entries must have been underway or completed between January 2022 and December 2022. 


    This year’s submission window is Monday, January 9, 2023 - Friday, February 17, 2023. As you prepare your submission, please review the submission requirements and judging standards for each category outlined on the one-pages linked above. 

    We want you to put your best foot forward. To help you prepare your awards submission, here is a list of questions asked on the submission form. 

    Click here to access the submission form.


    The communication awards program is broken into two divisions. We expanded the division of districts with more than 10,000 students to include Educational Service Districts. 

    • School districts with more than 10,000 students and Educational Service Districts
    • School districts with fewer than 10,000 students

    Category Changes 

    Over the last several years, there has been a huge increase in the number and diversity of video submissions. To allow more members to be celebrated and to make it easier on judges when reviewing submissions, the video category is now divided into three separate categories based on type. We have also seen a consistent drop in the number of entries for the finance publication. We eliminated this category and expanded the special purpose publication to include finance publications. 

    2023 Categories 

    Please use the links below to review a one-pager about each category, which includes a description, submission requirements, entry limit per district and the standards judges will use to evaluate each submission. 


    Each entry will be judged by a panel of communications professionals utilizing a rubric designed for each category. Judges will evaluate each entry using the submission summary and the URL(s) provided in the submission form. 

    When writing the submission summary, please use your category's rubric to create a summary of your project. Include your intended audience, goal, and outcome. Please address any other elements that will be scored using the rubric. Category rubrics are linked above. 


    • Best in Category: Given to submissions with the most points in a specific category. 
    • Perfect Score: Given to submissions with 5 points in all standards (40 points total). 
    • Award of Excellence: Given to submissions with total points between 36 and 40. 
    • Award of Merit: Given to submissions with total points between 31 and 35.
    • Honorable Mention: Given to submissions with total points between 26 and 30.


    Each category has eight standards. Judges will use the following point scale to rate each standard. To see a list of standards for a specific category, please refer to the one-pagers linked above.

    1 - Poor
    2 - Fair
    3 - Good
    4 - Very Good
    5 - Excellent 


    The fee for each entry is $35. Payment must be received by 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, February 21, 2023. Please log in to our membership database and pay online:

    Additional Awards

    In addition to the Communication Awards, WSPRA also accepts nominations for two special awards reserved for individuals who have contributed greatly to school public relations. Learn more about the Learning Liberty Award and Crystal Apple Award

    Questions? Email us at